In August of 2008 we had our 3rd son Leopold. Our middle son Xavier was only 3 and the cost to have both of our kids in daycare would add up to $13,000.00 a year. My husband had a job that he hated and after the cost of two car payments and paying daycare we would have a whopping $75.00 left over each month from his paycheck. This was not worth it. So we decided that in October when I returned to work Chris would become a stay at home dad. This was quite the struggle at first. We went down to one car but in the end it was worth it. A year later my husband realized his dream was to become a baker. We were getting by just fine so we decided he should go to school and get his degree since he was home anyway. So Chris started school in the spring of 2010. We've been doing good financially. We have been able to get caught up on bills, get out of any BAD debt things were on the up and up all while living on ONE income. This wouldn't last long. In February we paid off our one car loan and then decided to pick up another used car and pay cash. The goal was to put the money we had been spending on a car payment ($270.00) into a savings account. This went well until April... yes one month later. When the car that we just paid off took a shit and we had to pay $500.00 to repair it. So there went that savings. Then in May I was offered my dream job BUT the pay was less. Approximatley $300.00 a month less. That's OK we thought because that was money we were putting in savings and in the long run it would work out better for us. So we got by for the summer... until the flooding in August hit and we got 8 inches of water in our basement. This ruined our 2 year old washing machine. We filed a claim with FEMA as insurance didn't cover flooding and we received a check to just cover replacing our washing machine. Then October came and it started getting cold so we kick on the furnace and we got NOTHING. NOTHING coming out of our 4 year old furnace. The flooding ruined the circuit board, gas valve and ignitor. Then add on the $50.00 an hour for labor and we end up with a bill of $475.00.
You may ask what this has to do with marriage. I'll tell you what. I constantly think about money, I constantly worry about what we're going to do. As it stands it's October 27th and I still haven't been able to pay the October mortgage because we had to fix the furnace. I couldn't catch up with the next paycheck or else that would cause other bills to be late and the total amount of those late fees would add up to more than just being late on the mortgage payment. I am the one that handles our finances so this stress keeps me up at night. It makes me a nervous wreck. My husband doesn't stress as much. He tells me that something always works out. My response to that is "I MAKE IT WORK OUT, IT'S ME!!!" I understand why most divorces are the results of arguing over money.
No comments:
Post a Comment